Board of Education

BOE 2021-2022 meeting dates

Johnson elected vice president of MSBA

Congratulations to Ray-Pec School Board President Ruth Johnson on being elected vice president of the Missouri School Boards’ Association at a meeting of the MSBA Delegate Assembly on June 18. The Delegate Assembly was held in conjunction with MSBA’s Igniting Great Ideas Summit June 18-19 in Springfield. MSBA is a not-for-profit organization that helps school boards.

Ruth Johnson

School Board election

Voters elected newcomer Deanna Olson and incumbent Billy King to serve on the Ray-Pec School Board. 

They will be sworn in during a reorganization meeting on April 19. Six candidates filed to vie for the two positions available. They were elected to serve three-year terms.

Deanna Olson

Deanna Olson

Billy King

Billy King 2018 image

School Board candidates

Candidate(s) for the April 6, 2021, School Board election:

  • Billy King, Raymore
  • Athenia Ingram, Peculiar
  • Thomas Walsh, Raymore
  • Janet Jones, Raymore
  • Deanna Olson, Raymore
  • Susan Edmonsond, Raymore

The candidates are listed on the ballot in the order of filing.

School Board election image

Board Member Ashley Jones resigns from postAshley Jones 2018

Ray-Pec School Board Member Ashley Jones has resigned from the School Board. She submitted a letter of resignation, effective Feb. 4.

Board Policy 0324 states that the Board will conduct an interview process to select an individual to fill the vacant seat until the next school board election. Jones's term expires in April 2021, and she chose not to run for re-election.

Because the election is less than two months away, the School Board on Feb. 11 voted to suspend board policy and leave the seat vacant until someone is selected in the April 6 election.

Board President Ruth Johnson thanked Jones for her service on the Board. As a parent in the community and a Special Education professional in another school district, Jones has provided helpful insights during her term. Jones was elected to the Board in April 2018.

2021 School Board candidate filing information

The Raymore-Peculiar R-II School District will accept Declaration of Candidacy from any qualified person interested in running for a position on the School Board in the April 6, 2021, election. Interested persons may file at the school district Administrative Services Center, located at 21005 S. School Rd., Peculiar.

Filing will begin at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2020. Filing will end at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2021. In between, candidates may file by appointment only. Please contact Board Secretary Pam Steele at 816-892-1311 or

Except for the first and last day of the filing period, filing will not occur on days that the district offices are closed due to inclement weather or health-related reasons. Filing will also not occur when the school district's office are closed: Dec. 23, Dec. 24, Dec. 25, Jan. 1, and Jan. 18.

There are two positions available with three-year terms. Board members whose terms expire in 2021 are Ashley Jones and Billy King.

Placement on the ballot

Order of filing will determine the placement on the ballot. This is in accordance with Board Policy 0320.


Pam Steele, Secretary to the Board of Education

21005 S. School Rd., P.O. Box 789, Peculiar, MO  64078

Ph: (816) 892-1311
Fx: (816) 892-1380


Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

The seven-member Board of Education is elected by District patrons. Members are elected to serve three-year terms without pay. View all Board Members


  • 7 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of the month
  • Administrative Services Center, 21005 S. School Rd., Peculiar, MO 64078